December 7, 2022

Valley Post

Read Latest News on Sports, Business, Entertainment, Blogs and Opinions from leading columnists.

Atlético Paranaense 1-0: South American champions for the third time in their history

Gabriel Barbosa crowned the South American champion at Flamengo by making it 1-0 in the Copa Libertadores final against Atlético Paranaense led by Luis Felipe Scolari.

third final Libertadores Cup In four years, the second and third conquest overall and flamenco It could be celebrating a “golden” era in its history. Rio de Janeiro team prevailed with 1-0 to her Atlético Paranaense Luiz Felipe Scolari at the Monumental Final in Ecuador and celebrates the South American title.

The hero of the match was Gabriel Barbosa who gave the victory to “Fla”, with his sixth goal this season, who played for more than half with one player more due to the suspension of Pedro Enrique and thus easily maintained the unbeaten record. (11 wins 1 draw) this season in the competition.

The match started in better conditions for the 74-year-old coach’s side than 12-year-old Scolari, who had two good moments in two minutes with Vetino and Alex Santana. A muscular injury to Felipe Lewis made Dorival Junior’s start even worse, but over time, the momentum changed.

The ball was always under the feet of the home team, which tried in every way to break down the multifaceted defense of Atlético. Similarly, “furacao” defended in every way and the result was Pedro Enrique with two yellow cards before completing 45 minutes in the first half.

The result was that several delays were played and in the fourth minute of it, on a cross from Everton Ribeiro from the right, Barbosa flew to the second post and made the score 1-0.

See also  Olympiacos: Carababa suspended for 6 months

The second half began with a change for Atlético, who, with Mateus Felipe, filled the defensive void and sacrificed the creativity zone. The result was that Flamengo maintained their superiority in the match and had the ball under their feet, a condition that was in their favour, offensively and defensively, because they were not in danger of a draw.

Two shots from Barbosa and Everton did not cause Bento much concern and changes shortly thereafter reduced the pace of the match. That was Arturo Vidal’s turn when he joined Flamengo, booking the Chilean midfielder three minutes later.

Barbosa was Flamengo’s second mandatory change, but with the exception of the header, free kick and penalty kick for Atletico, the outcome of the final match was not at stake. He crowned the Flamengo champions 1-0 among others and sent them to Recoba against Independiente del Valle and the Club World Cup.

flamingoSantos, Rodini, Luiz, Pereira, Luis (20 Ayrton), Maya (71 Vidal), Everton Ribeiro, Gomez, de Arrascaeta (84 Hugo), Barbosa (83 Everton), Pedro

Athletic Gnosis: Pinto, Kelvin, Enrique, Elena, Abner, Fernandinho, Santana (46 Felipe), Bueno (57 Cannobio), Moura (75 Trans), Vitinho (57 Romolo), Roque (65 Pablo)


  • 7 times Independence (1964, 1965, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1984)
  • 6 times Boca (1977, 1978, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2007)
  • 5 times Penarol (1960, 1961, 1966, 1982, 1987)
  • 4 times River (1986, 1996, 2015, 2018), Students (1968, 1969, 1979, 2009)
  • .three times Olympia (1979, 1990, 2002), Nacional (1971, 1980, 1988), São Paulo (1992, 1993, 2005), Santos (1962, 1963, 2011), Gremio (1983, 1995, 2017), Palmeiras (1999, 2020, 2021), Flamingo (1981, 2019, 2022)
  • 2 times Cruzeiro (1976, 1997), Internacional (2006, 2010), Atlético Nacional (1989, 2016)
  • 1 time Colo Coo (1991), Racing (1967), Argentina (1985), Vasco (1998), Onse Caldas (2004), Liga de Quito (2008), Corinthians (2012), Atlético Mineiro (2013), San Lorenzo (2014)
See also  Option Phillies from Bryson Stott to Triple-A