July 14, 2024

Valley Post

Read Latest News on Sports, Business, Entertainment, Blogs and Opinions from leading columnists.

Dias-Kennel acknowledges the work of Cuban scientists – CMKW Radio Mummy

On the occasion of International Women and Women’s Day, Miguel Diaz-Connell Bermudas, First Secretary and President of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Cuba, recognized the island’s female scientists today. Percentage (%) of workers in that sector.

Highlighting the commitment of women in Cuban science on Twitter, the head of state revealed that there is still a way to see their role.

“On International Day of Women and Girls in Science, we would like to recognize the many Cuban women who have dedicated many hours of awareness from science to problem solving. Today 53% of the workers in this sector are women. We still have a long way to go to unleash his character, “Dias-Colonel wrote.

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), in its latest World Science Report, says the Antilles is the largest of the top 20 countries in the world with the highest proportion of female researchers.

Of the top 10 science academies for female membership, six are Latin America and the Caribbean: Cuba 27%, Caribbean (26%), Mexico and Nicaragua (23%), Peru (23%), Peru (20%) and Uruguay (19%).

Recently, María Guadalupe Guzmán Tirado, Director of the Research Center at the Pedro Kouri Institute of Tropical Medicine (IPK), presented the L’Oréal-Unesco International Prize for Women and Science, which recognizes five female scientists worldwide as exceptional. Industry.

UNESCO and the French company L’Oréal have also received the Dr. Gladys Gutiérrez Bugallo (from the IPK vector control department) award for young talents for women in science.

See also  Tower of Piraeus: Impressive lights for Christmas

Similarly, Hilda Carey Perez, Ph.D. in Science, chair of the Synthetic Peptides Group at the Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (CIGB) won the 2021 Latin American Women’s Chemistry Award presented by the American Chemical Society (ACS). And the Federation of Latin American Chemical Associations (FLAQ).